Meanings.

file-sep-08-8-53-56-pm

Ink and art marker sketch of Beyonce.

I did a lot of work today toward my Etsy shop. I am so excited, and nervous to get this off the ground. The excited part because I have other people excited for me. I always find it hard to be excited for myself. And nervous because, well…I’m putting myself out there for others to critique my work. That’s always hard. I am my harshest critic.

The featured image is a sketch I did the other night while listening (for the millionth time) to Lemonade by Beyonce. To know me is to know that I love Beyonce. So while I was just sitting and waiting for the tropical storm to pass through, I drew the queen. Fight me.

I thought I would take the time to explain what the name of my shop and blog, Glitter + Gunpowder, means.

For me it describes my art style perfectly. I love glittery, soft things. I love pastel colors. I love the softness of watercolor, the way to build up color. That’s the glitter part. That’s some of what you will find in my art.

The “gunpowder” is the harsher side. My dark blacks and inks. I love gothic and odd things. My aesthetic would be a weird mashup of My Little Pony and Beetlejuice. I think I need a Beetlejuice inspired My Little Pony now.

I think glitter and gunpowder is the easiest way to describe myself. So, that was the first thing that came to mind when thinking of a shop name.

Leave a Reply

